The Crew Cheif also explains why Draymond Green was ejected in the loss to the Charlotte.
The Dubs — who were playing without superstar Stephen Curry — managed to blow a five-point lead in the final 45 seconds and wound up losing by two points. Terry Rozier’s game-winning buzzer-beater ended up being the difference.
Just a wild ending to the Hornets-Warriors games, it looks like Charlotte is calling a timeout immediately, whether it should be awarded is a different story. Draymond lost it and got ejected, then Rozier hits a TOUGH shot for the win. Just wild. pic.twitter.com/XoREm9Qa8f
— Mo Dakhil (@MoDakhil_NBA) February 21, 2021
The NBA released its Last Two Minute Report on Sunday and said officials were correct not calling a double-dribble on Rozier.
“Rozier (CHA) loses control of the ball after it makes contact with his knee and legally continues his dribble following the loss of control.”
The bizarre lead-up to the final play was highlighted by Draymond Green’s ejection with 9.3 seconds left in the game. At that point, Golden State led by two, but Rozier hit both free throws to tie it up.
Green was livid that the refs had given Gordon Hayward a time-out after the jump ball at center court. Crew chief Marc Davis explained to the Charlotte Observer’s Rick Bonnell why Green was given two technicals during his outburst (h/t NBC Bay Area).
“His first technical foul was assessed when he directed profanity at his opponent. He was assessed his first technical foul for verbally taunting an opponent. He then proceeded to direct screaming profanity at a game official and received his technical foul was ejected as per rule.”
It was a tough loss for the Warriors, who have dropped back-to-back games they should have won. It would have a huge bonus to get a victory without Curry as the Dubs are battling for one of the Western Conference’s final playoff spots.
What did you think of the officiating over the final minutes of the game?